The rise of distant work has additionally led to an uptick in display sharing throughout video calls. One occupational hazard concerned with that is having net notifications — typically with personal data — seem for anybody on the decision to learn as you current. Chrome is now addressing this by hiding notifications once you’re display sharing.
There was a dramatic shift in how many people work – now greater than ever, we’re counting on the usage of Google Meet and different display sharing options. We hope this function will cut back distractions and stop delicate or private data from by accident being displayed whereas sharing your display.
When display sharing is lively, Chrome will nonetheless alert customers that they obtained a notification, however its contents might be hidden. As they arrive in, you’ll be given an up to date depend of what number of you’ve but to learn, with Chrome reminding you the way “content material is hidden when you’re sharing your display.”
Hovering over an alert (on macOS) helps you to faucet “Extra” to both “Mute” (dismiss a notification and stop any further ones) or “Present Content material” (show content material for the present and future notifications).
In any other case, when you’ve stopped broadcasting, the notifications will are available. This conduct builds on how alerts are already muted when sharing a tab in Google Meet. The alternate resolution is simply sharing a tab and never your complete display.
This function rolled out with version 88 of Chrome final week. It’s out there for each private and Google Workspace accounts.
Extra about Google Chrome:
FTC: We use earnings incomes auto affiliate hyperlinks. More.